Otolith

2012-Dec31-OtolithOne of the smallest vertebrate fossils I have is this fish ear bone or Otolith.  It is on a sliver of shale from the Lower Jurassic, near Lyme Regis, Dorset.

I have been displaying a fossil a day for a whole year now, which was my original target.  All of my fossil collection has been displayed, except a few models, casts and traces of mostly pterosaur material.  I also have large quantities of Pleistocene gastropods and a few other trilobite remains.  These offerings will not be shown as I am concluding my posts today.  My collections will now be systematically broken up and distributed, as I am no longer using them.  Only the pterosaur materials and selected trilobite fossils will remain with me.

Check out The Pterosaur Database and Distant Thoughts for more of my irregular posts.

